WhatsApp is one of the most widely used instant messaging apps, recently launched “Delete for Everyone” feature for all its users. But here is a question that does deleting messages really disappear from the phone? A new report claims that WhatsApp messages that are deleted are still on the device and can be easily accessed or seen by the user. Spanish Android blog Android Jefe has stated that deleted messages are present in the notification log of the device. Blog added that the recipient can easily access the deleted messages regardless whether it has been deleted from sender’s end. The blog mentioned, “What we found is that the messages are stored in the notification register of the Android system. So, it’s just a matter of entering that record to see the messages that the other person deleted,”
It further explains that anyone can access deleted WhatsApp messages sent to them via a third-party app named Notification History which can be downloaded via Google Play. After downloading the Notification app, users will have to search the message in the Android notification log and can retrieve it. Those users who are using third-party launchers like Nova Launcher it’s even easier. The notification log can be easily accessed without the need for an additional app. It’s easy to use the app, simply long press the home screen, then tap on Widgets > Activities > Settings > Notification log. You can then access the system’s notification log. Similarly, on stock Android, a Settings widget can also give access to the notification log.
There are many who tried using the Notification History third-party app and followed the above activities. discovered that the trick worked on an Android device. There are few limitations, however, as the messages that have generated a notification on the device can be retrieved. The notification log only saves the messages on the device until it’s restarted and once restarted, the platform noticed that the log was cleared.
The Following method has a certain restriction that only the first 100 characters of the deleted message will be visible, this feature is only available for users running Android 7.0 and above. Users can only retrieve text which means any kind of media file cannot be recovered. This is not the first time that reports of retrieving deleted messages have surfaced. Last year, Jonathan Zdziarski, iOS expert claimed that WhatsApp saved chat logs on the device despite it being archived or deleted. Delete for Everyone feature is one of the biggest use features and also helped people in saving them, this has been when a user sends a message to the wrong chat, or if the message sent contains a mistake. It is the latest feature added to WhatsApp in a long list of features introduced this year and is the biggest change to the chat app since blue ticks aka send receipts, Instagram also has similar feature.